What are the Puranas? Brief information about 18 elders

What are the Puranas? Brief information about 18 elders




What are the Puranas we have discussed in this article? (What are Puranas in Hindi?) Brief information is given about its part and those 18 elders.
What are the Puranas?


1 What are Puranas?
2 18 Brief information about the elders
2.1 1. Brahma Purana
2.2 2. Padma Purana
2.3 3. Shiva Purana
2.4 4. Vishnu Purana
2.5 6. Narada Purana
2.6 7. Markandeya Purana
2.7 8.Agni Purana
2.8 9. Bhavishya Purana
2.9 10. Brahma Vaivarta Purana
2.10 11. Linga Purana
2.11 12. Varaha Purana
2.12 13. Skanda Purana
2.13 14. Vamana Purana
2.14 15. Kurma Purana
2.15 16. Matsya Purana
2.16 17. Garuda Purana
2.17 18. Cosmic Purana
2.18 Related Posts

Purana means old story. Puranas are one of the oldest texts of literature of our world. The words of knowledge written in Puranas and learning of morality are still an invaluable gem and the cornerstone of our civilization.

The language written in the Vedas is difficult, but in the Purana, the same knowledge is presented with ease. Hard facts are explained in Puranas through stories.
18 Puranas in Hindi

Maharishi Ved Vyasa has written 18 Puranas in Sanskrit language. Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh are the main deities of these Puranas. It is called Trimurti i.e. Brahma, Vishnu, Mahesh.
1. Brahma Purana

Brahma Purana is the oldest Purana. This Purana has 246 chapters and 14000 verses. In this book, apart from the greatness of Brahma Ji, the origin of creation and the incarnation of Ganga Maa and the stories of Krishnavatar and Ramayana are illustrated. From this book, we can also get from the origin of the creation to the Indus Valley Civilization.
2. Padma Purana

The Padma Purana consists of 55000 verses and this Purana is divided into five sections, namely, Swargakhand, Srishtkhanda, Uttarakhanda, Patalkhanda and Bhumikhanda. In this Purana, the sky, earth and constellations are mentioned.

It is said in the Puranas that there are four types of organisms which are placed in the category of Udibhaj, Andaj, Svedaj and Jarayuz. All the rivers and mountains of India have also been described in detail.
Also Read – 51 Priceless Quotes on Leadership 51 Best Quotes on Leadership in Hindi

The history of Shakuntala Dushyant and many ancestors of Lord Rama has been included in this Purana. Shakuntala Dushyant’s son’s name was Bharat, only after his name was the name of our country from Jambudeep to Bharatkhand and then India.
3. Shiva Purana

There are 24000 verses given in Shivpuran and stories of greatness of Lord Shiva and some events related to them are shown. We also know this Purana as Vayu Purana.

In this Purana, there is an illustrated description of Shivling, Mount Kailash, and Rudraksh, based on the planets of our solar system, we have the names of the days of the week and even today, the names of these days are used almost all over the world.
4. Vishnu Purana

There are 6 parts and 23000 verses in Vishnu Purana. This book contains the stories of the child Dhruva, Lord Vishnu, and Krishnavatar. Apart from this, the story of Emperor Prithu is also included, due to which our mother earth was named Earth. This Purana depicts the history of the Maharajas of the Chandravanshi and Suryavanshi kings.

The identity of our Indian nationality is centuries old. The geographical area which is surrounded by the Himalayas in the north and the ocean in the south is found in the following verses of Vishnu Purana, which is known as Bharat Desh and all the people living in India are called children of India.) Vishnu Purana Is a historical book.
6. Narada Purana

There are about 25000 verses in the Narada Purana and it is divided into two parts. In this book, our eighteen Puranas are summarized.

In the first part, the laws of the mantra and the order of death etc. are also given. The story of Ganga descent is also elaborated in this Purana. The second part has seven melody and octave of music. Music system is still considered the basis of Indian music.
7. Markandeya Purana

It is somewhat smaller than other Puranas. The Markandeya Purana covers 9000 verses and includes 137 chapters. This Purana contains the knowledge of social justice and yoga between Rishimarkandeya and Rishi Jaimini. Apart from this, stories related to Bhagwati Durga and Shri Krishna are also given in it.

8.Agni Purana

The Agni Purana consists of 383 chapters and contains 15000 verses. We can call this Purana a knowledge base of Indian culture. In this book, short stories of Mahabharata, Matsyavatar and Ramayana are given, besides many topics have been told about it.
9. Bhavishya Purana

The Bhavishya Purana covers 129 chapters and contains 28000 verses. In this book, the description of the importance of the sun and the construction of the 12 months of the year has been described in detail, about many topics of social, religious and educational laws of India. The identity of snakes is depicted in this Purana.

There are many stories of this Purana which are also similar to the stories of the Bible. In this Purana, apart from the old dynasties, the accounts of the future Nanda dynasty, Mughal dynasty, Maurya dynasty, Queen Victoria and Chhatrapati Shivaji have been given, even the story of Lord Satya Narayan is also taken from this Purana.
10. Brahma Vaivarta Purana

In Brahma Baibart Purana, 18000 years


The Brahma Babart Purana covers 18000 verses and 218 chapters. This scripture depicts the greatness of Brahma, Tulsi, Ganesh, Savitri, Saraswati, Lakshmi, and Krishna and the stories associated with them are also given. Knowledge related to Ayurveda is also given in this Purana.
11. Linga Purana

The Linga Purana covers 163 chapters and contains 11000 verses. In it, the origin of the epoch and the cycle etc. are described in the astronomical period. The story of King Ambareesh is also written in this Purana. Aghor lore and Aghor mantras are also mentioned in this book.
12. Varaha Purana

The Varaha Purana contains 217 skandhas and 10,000 shlokas are also in it. In addition to the story of the twelve avatars, this book also gives a detailed description of the Bhagavad Gita. In this Purana, there is a detailed description of Hades, heaven and many other worlds.
13. Skanda Purana

Skanda Purana is the largest Purana and there are 81000 verses and six sections in this Purana. The Skanda Purana describes 27 constellations, 18 rivers, including 12 Jyotirlingas, and narratives of the Ganga descent. Kanyakumari temple is also mentioned in this Purana.
Also read – 25 interesting facts of Dr. Rajendra Prasad. Rajendra Prasad Facts in Hindi
14. Vamana Purana

The Vamana Purana has 95 chapters and covers 10000 verses and is divided into two sections. It mentions the origin of seven stupas and the geographical location of the earth, mountains and rivers.
15. Kurma Purana

The four Vedas are summarized in this Purana. The Kurma Purana consists of 18000 verses and four divisions. In it, the stories of Sagar Manthan have been written in detail. It describes the origin of Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva, Prithvi and Ganga.
16. Matsya Purana

The Matsya Purana consists of 290 chapters and has 14000 verses. In this treatise, stories of the Matsya avatar are given.
17. Garuda Purana

The Garuda Purana contains 279 chapters and contains 18000 verses. In this book, the events of death have been told about Yama Lok, Phantom Lok, hell and about 84 lakh Yonis.

In the Purana, many Chandravanshi and Suryavanshi kings have also been told. Generally people hesitate to read this Purana because this book is taught only after one’s death.
18. Universe

The Brahmanda Purana contains 12000 verses. This Purana describes the planets in the universe. The history of many Suryavanshi and Chandravanshi kings is also compiled.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *